Jerusalem Restaurant – Sizzling Meat

My friend and I debate about what is the best kosher restaurant in Moscow. She thinks it is Jerusalem Restaurant located at the Bolshaya Bronnaya Synagogue. (We will get to my favorite later). I have been many times and the food is always good, but I was never blown away. The first time I ate there I ordered a hamburger. I know to be a food blogger I should have an open mind and not to be a picky eater, yet I am! I hate onions with a passion – raw, cooked, sautéed – I hate them in every form. Well, the hamburger meat was mixed with little pieces of onions. Didn’t White Castle make their millions off that idea? So I can’t judge the restaurant based on my pickiness.

Since my first not great experience, I have been back and have always had good food. I always seem to order the schwarma. Their appetizers, including soups, are also good. However, my friend always talks about this sizzling plate of meat that she gets, but I could never seem to find it on the menu. My husband who uses the Russian menu has never found it there either. My friend always goes with groups and never does the ordering.

I finally went to the restaurant with her and a group and ate the sizzling meat plate. It was amazing!! There was a grill and on top were different types of shashlk including chicken on the bone, lamb chops, pieces of steak, ground beef (with you guessed it – onions mixed in), and veal. It was served with potatoes and large pieces of laffa bread on top. Shashlik is a form of shish kebab and very popular in Russia. Everything was amazing!! The meat was cooked to perfection and was not dry or fatty!

I even found out how to order it when I go back. The restaurant has all the types of shashlik individually on the menu. You just ask your server to put together a mixture for you or you say the different types of meat you want. I would highly recommend the shashlik platter to anyone who goes to Jerusalem. It is certainly on par with the quality and taste of most New York kosher restaurants.

Bolshaya Bronnaya Synagogue
Bolshaya Bronnaya, 6 (Fifth floor)
Telephone: +7 (495) 695-4530
Metro: Tverskaya, Pushkinskaya

One thought on “Jerusalem Restaurant – Sizzling Meat

  1. Congratulations on your great new site! This is a fantastic idea, and I will look forward to reading your posts and acting on your advice! So great to have more food bloggers in Russia! Best of Luck!

Leave a Reply

